Hatchlings Games

Web Gaming 2.0 Revolution

Games & Programming in My Life

Hi, I’m Lim Leong Kee. This is my first post in Hatchlings blog. I will start with my history then my current work.

I work as a full-time game programmer in Hatchlings Games Studio under an Industrial Training Program. The company is developing a game named Quasr, which is an online trading card on board game. I’m currently working on the client side game programming.

How did I involved in the project – Quasr?

Kuan invited me to work on the game with him. Back then Kuan was working on the client side but now he is the lead programmer of Quasr. The programming design pattern used the MVC (Model-View-Control). We divide the work into parts. Kuan did the model and control part for each object in the game (by the way, our code is in OOP – Object-oriented Programming). I did the view which is the user interface.

The client side programming uses Action Script 2 to code and it is suitable to be written using OOP, Object Oriented Programming. Although I learnt OOP from University but I my thinking and programming weren’t in OOP. Working on Quasr forces me to change my mind into an OOP state. I love OOP so much because every object is separated neatly and changes are easy to be made in future. OOP is fun. I gained a lot from Quasr.

Games greatly influence my life. I wanted to be a game creator when I made first contact with console games. I was 8 and I didn’t know how a game is made or what was used to create a game. I first made my own game using pen and paper.

In the search of a way to make games I was often attracted by applications that create moving graphics. I thought that was the way to made games but I realized what I did was just animation.

Later, some games came up with map editor. My first experience with Map Editor was Starcraft. I used its map editor to create a lot of mini games and campaign.

I was going to give up on creating games until I found Macromedia Flash. I bought a Macromedia Flash Book with the Flash MX software from a bookstore in KL. This book answered a lot of questions and the road to my dream is closer…

I am very happy that I am part of Hatchlings Games Studio.

Hatchlings is a team. We work together to make Quasr a success. Best of all, we keep learning. I did the client side while Kuan on the server side. We fix game bugs found by our game testers. I enjoy my current work since I love programming a lot. Last Friday (15 June), we finished all the game elements and fixed all the reported bugs. All the card abilities can be used in game. I haven’t got the time to make the effect animation for each abilities. It is playable at Quasr.com. The game is still imbalance. The new game design will be confirm on this Friday (22 June), so I may have a rest or learn other new things before that day comes.

Quasr Alpha tournament will be held on 29 June to 2 July in this year. We are expecting to get the great responses and comments from our game players. Hope that Quasr will be everyone’s favourite game. I want to join the tournament too!

June 17, 2007 - Posted by | Hatchlings Games, Quasr, Sharing

4 Comments »

  1. I think we should say thanks to blizzard . If blizzard doesn’t exist , there won’t have Starcraft .If no Starcraft , we won’t able to have such a good flash programmer —> Leong Kee .
    Feel free to join the Quasr Alpha tournament . Invites all your friends and family to join also .Let’s make this tournament a fun and enjoy event .
    Go~GO~ Hatchers ~

    Comment by lunux | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  2. Way to go Leong Kee for picking up object oriented programming.

    Lunux, I am extremely grateful for Blizzard too. Without Blizzard I do not think I will be inspired to create a game company that aims high.

    See you at the office tomorrow.

    Comment by john | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  3. ooohhh you larr tell you so long time already, change to OO bah … it’s been a year since i start that advice :D, finally, you made it XD, cheerz

    Comment by solidx | June 19, 2007 | Reply

  4. […] Related Posts: Games & Programming in My Life […]

    Pingback by How to start learning programming - Kuan’s version « Hatchlings Games | June 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

