Hatchlings Games

Web Gaming 2.0 Revolution

Slade went mad

We weren’t trying hard enough.

I was confused. Being a game designer but dislike the game that we are going to make and still can live through every day. What is wrong with me? Every time when I imagine myself playing the game, I will stop after a few seconds. I just didn’t like it.

One day when we were out for dinner, we discussed about the game. I kept thinking that maybe it is just me who doesn’t like the game because I dislike playing strategy game and trading card game. So, I went on asking more about the game to understand it more so that I can force myself liking it. It was a bad idea. I mean, a bad idea to think that I dislike specific game so it is ok not to be bothered of. All of a sudden, Slade went mad and started scolding all of us. (Hate it when he does that)

All the while all of us known that there is a big problem with the game design but we were so blinded with the old design and never wanted a change badly. Slade was mad again and wanted new game design. All of us were contributing ideas in the car and nowing was the driver. (Never discuss something like that in the car) I’ll talk more about nowing’s driving later.

No matter how we come up with new ideas we were still stuck with the old design…

We weren’t trying hard enough.

Related Posts:

January 9, 2007 - Posted by | Drama, Encephalon, Game Design, Sharing

6 Comments »

  1. […] from the horrible scolding and driving, Slade shoved me a copy of Raph Koster’s A Theory of Fun. (Do read the book if you want to know […]

    Pingback by What is Noise? « Hatchlings Games | January 18, 2007 | Reply

  2. Well I’d say we’ve come quite far from where we are two months ago 🙂

    Comment by nowing | January 18, 2007 | Reply

  3. Taling from experience ( yes im old), ive been in a similar state of problem. The biggest problem with designing something new was that old patterns tend to take a certain form or shape . We had a payment gateway that was design in BLOCK/RECTANGLES, trying to create a new gateway design was really tough because we were to used to drawing BLOCKS/RECTANLGES.
    Solution: We started to draw everything in spheres and triangles. Thinking out of that box in such a way feed more ideas to the design, some unortodox.
    Just an advise: Why not change the representation of the cards to some weird symbolic statue..

    Comment by cinod_79 | January 18, 2007 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the advise. Actually, not long after that, no wing tried to draw the chessbox using Hexagons instead of Squares and that made all us think out of the “box”! And yea, some unortodox indeed 🙂

    I’ll explain more about how we develop the game to the current design.

    Comment by Iris | January 18, 2007 | Reply

  5. It seems a bit misguided to go about designing a game for a commercial product, if you haven’t been doing it with glee since you were a bright-eyed nine year old.

    Comment by Anonymous-kun | March 23, 2007 | Reply

  6. Anonymous kun – thank you but I don’t get mad that often 🙂

    Comment by Slade | June 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

