Hatchlings Games

Web Gaming 2.0 Revolution

Concepting Encephalon

Here in Hatchlings we have four artists, and I’m one of them. Now before I get the others to put their stuff here, maybe I’d demonstrate how I usually complete a picture… Here’s some concept art for Encephalon.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I first do a rough sketch using my three-year-old Wacom Graphire 2 in a drawing program. My current program of choice is ArtRage 2, look at the gorgeously realistic pencils. I do have a scanner, but I hardly use it – the only reason that I bought it was that it came along with the printer.

This is a concept sketch of an ‘Aspect’, sort of a digital avatar of a character in the game where they menally project themselves into an arena in an alternate dimension… or something like that; I’m not talking about world setting here.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I then export the sketch as a .jpg file and open it in Photoshop. In there I do the thick black outlines in another layer using a 5-pixel solid round brush. This part takes a lot of time as I’m quite picky about uneven lines.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Coloring time! I insert new layers under the outline layer, and color between the lines. Easy enough. The Hue/Saturation sliders are very useful here as I use them to adjust colors to see which combination matches the best.

Aspect 2 by ~no-wing on deviantART

After adding in shading and lighting, I am done. I keep the tones simple by using only one shade of shadow and light.

And that’s it 🙂 It’s pretty simple when compared to the other artists here like Moy, but we’re special in our own way.

Related Posts:

January 9, 2007 - Posted by | Encephalon, Quasr Art, Quasr Concept

5 Comments »

  1. “It’s pretty simple when compared to the other artists here like Moy, but we’re special in our own way.”

    I read this sentence, and I can’t help but say:

    Awww.

    Comment by Ganaesh D. | January 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. The aspects are looking good.

    Comment by Slade | January 15, 2007 | Reply

  3. […] Concepting Encephalon by no.wing […]

    Pingback by Concept Arts, Pt I « Hatchlings Games | January 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. […] Concepting Encephalon […]

    Pingback by Freedom of expression (Concept arts, pt2) « Hatchlings Games | September 19, 2007 | Reply

  5. […] Concepting Encephalon by no.wing […]

    Pingback by How to activate your creative state « Hatchlings Games | July 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

